Basic Listings in the system can run for up to 90 days. At that point the listing will expire. The listing expiration date is different from the end date of a listing. The end date of a listing is set based on the listing duration. Items can relist multiple times based on the listing duration before the listing expires. Once a listing expires it will no longer automatically relist. If the item is manually listed again after it expires and the listing uses Optional Services, the fee for those services will be charged again.
All listing types expire. Some listings using selected optional services have different expiration periods than basic listings. Please see the Fee Schedule for listing expiration periods.
An unsold listing will expire in up to 90 days regardless of how many times it has been relisted, either automatically or manually. Once a listing has expired it will need to be manually listed again. This new listing will have a new expiration date and will be charged for any Optional Services.
Items that sell and are set to relist will relist with a new expiration date based on the start of the new listing. If Optional Services or Listing Fees are required for the listing those will be charged to the newly listed item. This new item will then run until it expires or sells. The same is true for manual relists of sold or expired items.
Items can be set to relist automatically. Relisting will occur based on the relist option and listing duration selected. However, an item will not relist after the expiration date. Optional services including a special duration or reserve price are limited to an maximum expiration of 4 times the listing duration (3 automatic relists). The relist selection can be made when the item is initially listed.
Items that are not set to relist automatically can be manually relisted until they expire. Relisting an item before it expires is free.
We have two Auto Relist options:
- "Relist until the item is sold," and
- "Relist n times (regardless of whether or not the item sells)."
When you list the item, you can select the Auto Relist option in Listing Details by checking the Auto Relist checkbox, then clicking which option you want. The system automatically relists your item based upon your selection free of charge with the same options until it expires.
You can also manually relist one or more unsold or expired items either as-is or with edits. For more information about how to relist items, see Relisting Items.